FAQ

How does the "passwordless" login system work?

Other FAQs

One of the biggest security threats is not someone nefarious hacking into a system; rather it is people using passwords that are easy to guess! People always seem to forget their passwords too! Hence, PicSafe uses a "passwordless" login system.

When you open the app, you will be asked to create an account or sign in to an existing account. When you either create an account or sign in, we don't ask for a password. Instead, we send you an email with a "magic link" that when opened on a device that has PicSafe installed will automatically log you in. It's pretty much the same process you go through when you hit the "forgot password" or "reset password" link on many other websites. We rely on your access to email being secure.

If you don't have email access on the device you have installed PicSafe on, we also provide a five digit "Sign in Code" in the email. In the app, there is a prompt to enter a "Sign in Code" so you can log in.

For security purposes, the "magic link" and the "sign in code" are only valid for 20 minutes and can only be used once. They become invalid after use, and you will have to initiate the sign in process again.

If you requested the email and did not receive it within a few minutes, please check your spam folder.